How Can I Accurately Model Turbine Blades in CFD Using COMSOL/FEMLAB?

In summary, the conversation is about a person trying to model fluid flow through a field of undersea turbine generators using COMSOL/FEMLAB. They are struggling with how to accurately approximate the restriction caused by the turbine blades and are seeking advice from others, specifically FEMLAB experts.
Quattro
Hi,

I’m pretty new to the CFD game, but have been trying to model, very approximately, fluid flow through a field of undersea turbine generators. The issue I’m having is how to actually approximate the restriction which corresponds to the turbine blades.

I’m using COMSOL/FEMLAB. As far as I know, all it does is solves the Navier Stokes equation for the conditions of your problem. For this reason, initially I just made the turbines correspond to a region of increased viscosity, but now I’ve realized this isn’t a good approximation at all since the turbines are actually energy sinks.

Some people I’ve spoken to say approximating just a resistive force or similar should be fine, but as I see it, the flow will be very different depending of whether the fluid is simply being restricted at certain points or energy is actually being extracted from it…

What do you think? Are there any FEMLAB experts out there? How can I get around this?

Thanks,

Tim

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Tim,

Welcome to the CFD game! It sounds like you have a tricky problem on your hands. Approximating a resistive force or similar is probably the easiest way to go about modeling the undersea turbines, but you're right that the flow could be very different depending on whether energy is actually being extracted from it.

Unfortunately, I'm not an expert in FEMLAB, but there may be some helpful resources out there that can help you get around this issue. Have you looked into any tutorials or online forums? Alternatively, maybe someone else here has had a similar experience and can offer some advice.