Vector Space vs Field F Vector Space

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between a "vector space" and a "vector space over a field F". It is explained that a vector space over a field F satisfies 8 axioms, but a vector space also satisfies these axioms as it is a special case of a module over a ring. The main distinction between a field and a vector space over field F is that a field has multiplicative inverses.
kman12
Hello, I'm studying linear algebra and wanted to know what is the difference between a "vector space" and a "vector space over field F".
I know that a vector space over field F satisfies the 8 axioms, but does a vector space satisfy this also?

Physics news on Phys.org
A field could be a set of real, or complex numbers, or a set of rational numbers whose addition and multiplication is well defined.

waht said:
A field could be a set of real, or complex numbers, or a set of rational numbers whose addition and multiplication is well defined.

This doesn't answer my question, I want to know the difference between a vector space and a vector space over field F.

There's no difference. Every vector space is a vector space over a field. The field is usually the real numbers or the complex numbers, but it could be any field. A vector space over [itex]\mathbb R[/itex] is often called a "real vector space", and a vector space over [itex]\mathbb C[/itex] is often called a "complex vector space".

Fredrik said:
There's no difference. Every vector space is a vector space over a field. The field is usually the real numbers or the complex numbers, but it could be any field. A vector space over [itex]\mathbb R[/itex] is often called a "real vector space", and a vector space over [itex]\mathbb C[/itex] is often called a "complex vector space".

Right this would make sense. So that means the 8 axioms for a "Vector Space over a field F" also hold for a "Vector space".

Because i know that the basic defin of a vector space is that: