Why chern number must be an integer?

• Thread starter wdlang
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integer
In summary, the Chern number associated with the Berry curvature must be an integer due to the nature of Berry's phase, which arises from curvature in the parameter space of Hamiltonians and results in an integer change of phase for adiabatically transported eigenstates. A good reference for physics students is Topology, Geometry, and Physics by M. Nakahara.
wdlang
i am a student of physics

i do not know much about the chern number

i wonder why the chern number must be an integer

any good reference?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think this may answeryour question; maybe someone else can critique it.

Let's see; let's assume we are using integers as the coefficient group G.
The n-th chern class of (the tangent bundle of) a
m-manifold, is, by def. an element of H<sup>2n</sup>(M;G) , i.e., the 2n-th cohomology
group of M. So , strictly speaking, the Chern class is a cochain representative of
some cohomology class, so an element of Hom( H_2(M;G),G) , by (vector space)
duality of homology with resp. to cohomology. So, if G =integers, you get a map into
the integers as your Chern class, and so the value of the Chern class must be an
integer.

Does that answer your question.?. I know physicist often complain about mathematicians
using jargon that obscures instead of clarifying. Let me know if this was the case here,
and I will try to clarify.

Bacle said:
I think this may answeryour question; maybe someone else can critique it.

Let's see; let's assume we are using integers as the coefficient group G.
The n-th chern class of (the tangent bundle of) a
m-manifold, is, by def. an element of H<sup>2n</sup>(M;G) , i.e., the 2n-th cohomology
group of M. So , strictly speaking, the Chern class is a cochain representative of
some cohomology class, so an element of Hom( H_2(M;G),G) , by (vector space)
duality of homology with resp. to cohomology. So, if G =integers, you get a map into