Do I need to be obsessed with physics in order to do well in it?

• Thread starter ja sam glup
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the individual is a college freshman taking advanced physics courses and is concerned about fitting in with the stereotypical "physics student" mold. They enjoy a well-balanced life, including spending time with friends, playing sports, and pursuing other interests. They are worried that their lack of focus solely on physics may hinder their success in the field. However, they are reassured that a balance is important and that being solely obsessed with physics is not necessary for success.
ja sam glup
Do I need to be "obsessed" with physics in order to do well in it?

Hey all. I'm currently a college undergrad, a freshman, and I'm taking Calc 3, chem 2, and physics 1 with calc. The physics course is an accelerated course that includes some parts of special relativity.

In high school, I was a pretty well-rounded student; I had good SAT scores, good grades, but nothing was exceptional. I was never really motivated to put in work besides the bare minimum in high school, because I actually had pretty severe social anxiety that really made me abhor being in school. I would hate to talk to people, I thought everyone was boring, and this negative attitude persisted for so long that I could no longer distinguish if I was merely going through a phase, or if this mentality was actually part of my personality. Anyway, needless to say, since I hated school, I didn't do as well as I could have. But that's not the point.