Vehicle dynamics requirements

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of a CS student wanting to learn about vehicle dynamics to program a simulator. The student is aware that this is a difficult task and is willing to put in the effort. They ask for recommendations on math and physics subjects that are necessary for this goal. The other person, a mechanical engineer, advises that in addition to integration, vectors, matrices, and differential equations mechanics, the student should also have knowledge in areas such as transient analysis, suspension systems, cornering stiffness, and braking. They suggest collaborating with experienced mechanical and automotive engineers for a more comprehensive understanding of the subject.
embassyhill
I'm a CS student interested in learning vehicle dynamics to program a simulator (like iRacing for example). I know this is a difficult task but I am willing to take the long road. So I am asking here, what math and physics subjects should I go through to make this happen? I guess it's probably the same as with every other kind of mechanical simulation. So far I've understood that I need to know integration, vectors, matrices, differential equations mechanics. Anything else I should definitely add to this?

Engineering news on Phys.org