New to Physics Forums? Struggling with Laplace?

In summary, the conversation discusses three problems involving Laplace and its applications, including finding the Laplace transform of a given function without using a table, finding the inverse Laplace transform, and finding the Maclaurin series of a given function. The process of calculating the Laplace transform and the inverse transform is explained, as well as the concept of Maclaurin series. The original poster also asks for help and requests to see some of the work done so far.
awaheed
hi everyone, I am new to physics forums and am struggling with Laplace.

I have been given 3 problems:

a) sint-tcost -> find the laplace transform of the fiven function without using table

b) 3/ s2(s2-a) -> Find the inverse laplace transform of the given function

c) Ln (1 + sinx) -> find from first principles the first three non zero terms of the maclaurin series of the given function f(x)

Any help would be appreciated :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi ! Without using the table means that you need to apply the integral definition.
The Laplace Transform of any function is calculated by integrating this way:

[tex]\mathcal{L} \left\{ f(t) \right\} = \int_{0}^{+\infty}{f(t)\cdot{}e^{-s\cdot{}t}dt}[/tex]

Where f(t) is the original function.
And the inverse transform is calculated as:

[tex]\mathcal{L}^{-1} \left\{ F(s) \right\} = \frac{1}{2\pi{}i}\int_{\sigma-i\infty}^{\sigma+i\infty}{F(s)\cdot{}e^{s\cdot{}t}ds}[/tex]

And for the third one, Maclaurin means you're looking for the Taylor expansion centered at 0.

Last edited:
Please show us some of what you have done.

1. What is Physics Forums?

Physics Forums is an online community that provides a platform for individuals to discuss and ask questions about various topics in physics. It is a place for scientists, students, and enthusiasts to connect and exchange knowledge and ideas.

2. How can I join Physics Forums?