Use vibration to generate electricity

In summary, a student is working on a generator that uses vibration and a magnet coil setting with a spring to generate electricity. They plan to use a permanent magnet with a 12Volt output and a constant vibration frequency of 100Hz. The A is circular with a diameter of 6cm, but the number of coils and strength of the magnet have not been decided. They are also seeking advice on the best way to choose the size of the magnet. Additionally, the student is researching the effect of the spring constant, magnet mass, and damping on vibration energy harvesting, as well as exploring the use of piezoelectric crystals in vibration energy harvesting. They have come across a similar device called the Windbelt, which also uses a
comewithcws
Hello, I am a student making a generator.
the main idea is to use the vibration with the magnet coil setting with the spring to generate electricity.
I will use the permanent magnet, but i know that
e = N w B A
i decided to have a 12Volt output,
constant vibration frequency in 100Hz
the A is in circular,with diameter = 6cm(just roughly decide,can be change, but can't be too large)
but i didnt decide the number of coil (N) and the (B)
i hv no idea to choose how strong of the magnet should be.
or
may i ask that , in a resonable way, how lagre of the magnet i need to use to do this generator?

thankyou for your attention

Engineering news on Phys.org
The motion of the magnet relative to the vibrating mount is maximum when the resonant frequency of the spring (spring constant k) with mass m is tuned to the driving frequency of 100 Hz.
f0 = (1/2π) sqrt (k/m) = 100 Hz. See thumbnail.

Bob S

Attachments

• Forced oscillator3.jpg
    Forced oscillator3.jpg
    25.6 KB · Views: 529
Last edited:

1. How does vibration generate electricity?