Julian Barbour's "End of Time"

• Thread starter Mahlonslee
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses Julian Barbour's book "The End of Time" and asks for opinions on whether it is worth reading. The original poster is unsure about the theories presented in the book and asks for reviews or opinions. Another member mentions that Barbour is well known for his work on spacetime concepts and welcomes the new member to the forum.
Mahlonslee
[SOLVED] Julian Barbour's "End of Time"

Hi all,

I'm new to these forums, have been trolling them for the past week and thought I'd post.

Was in the bookstore yesterday looking in the physics section and found a book called "The End of Time" by Julian Barbour and started reading into it. I'm a bit of an amateur and was just wondering if anyone else has read this and whether its worth the time at all, as his theories seem a bit far fetched and without much backing from the scientific community.

Well if any of you have read it and can offer up a review or an opinion I would be very much indebted to you.

Thanks again,

Physics news on Phys.org
I haven't read the book, but barbour is well known for his work on clarifying spacetime concepts.

Welcome to Physics Forums, Mahlonslee!

Moving this topic to our new Astronomy book forum...

1. What is Julian Barbour's "End of Time" theory?

Julian Barbour's "End of Time" theory is a concept in physics that suggests that time is an illusion and does not truly exist. According to this theory, the universe is timeless and all moments in time exist simultaneously.

2. What evidence supports Julian Barbour's "End of Time" theory?

There is currently no direct evidence that supports Barbour's theory. It is a philosophical and conceptual idea that challenges our traditional understanding of time. However, some physicists argue that certain phenomena, such as quantum entanglement, could potentially be explained by a timeless universe.