Do Other Animals Experience Ghosts?

• Thread starter kauai_diver
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discussed the existence of ghosts and spirits and why they are generally believed to only be human entities. The concept of consciousness and self-awareness was also brought up, with questions about the source of these abilities and whether they can exist beyond physical death. The conversation ended with encouragement to continue exploring these questions scientifically.
kauai_diver
Hi all! Newbie here just joined this great website! I tell you it really gets my imagination running wild!

Anyway my question is regarding ghosts/spirits. Let's say they do exist, why is it that no one talks, sees, hears about, or investigates ghosts or spirits who many not be human? Such as dogs, monkeys, cockroaches etc... Basically why are humans so special? I don't think we are the only conscious sentient beings on the planet.

What do you all think?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think this is just speciesism. You can see that in all the paraphysics literature there is a tendency to be over-impressed with the power and significance of mind: MIND reading, MENTAL telepathy, PSYCHOkinesis and so on. And only looking for ghosts of people with (human) minds is just more of the same.

Years ago there was a physicist who did experiments to look for paraphysical effects in cockroaches and fertilized chicken eggs. And ESP people laughed at him! They just assumed that paraphysics was a sole possession of human beings with their wonderful brains and minds.

But the physicist held that paraphysics was a law of nature arising from the quantum level, and therefore it should be found in simple creatures, and indeed might be easier to see where there was less complexity to blur the experiment. I think the physicist's name was Schmidt, does anyone else recall these experiments.

Originally posted by kauai_diver