Thermodynamics and Statistical Thermodynamics References

In summary: I don't think I've read it though.In summary, an Applied Physics student recommends using Zemansky & Dittman as a textbook, and Thermal Physics by Kittel and Kroemer as a good reference.
diosak
Hi,
i'm an Applied Physics student (2nd year).
Could you please tell me a book to study thermodynamics from?
I've studied from Thermodynamics, Kinetic Theory, and Statistical Thermodynamics by Sears - Salinger and it is pretty good.
Has anyone "tested" :
1) An Introduction to Thermal Physics by Daniel V. Schroeder
2) Heat and Thermodynamics by Mark W. Zemansky - Richard H. Dittman
3) Thermodynamics and an Introduction to Thermostatistics by Herbert B. Callen
4) Thermodynamics by Enrico Fermi ?

If someone has tried another textbook and they think it was really helpfull, please let me know.
Thanks, in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org

I used An Introduction to Thermal Physics by Daniel V. Schroeder last semester. It required a lot of derivation as part of the questions. If you want a book with more step-by-step help and sample problems worked out within the text, I'd look elsewhere. I have not tried any others to give you a better suggestion, however.

anyone some help? please??

Fermi's book is excellent. I also like Tolman's "principles of statistical mechanics".

I own a copy of Zemansky & Dittmar (1981), which I use as a (fairly good) reference. I tried to read Callen: I would never recommand that book to anybody because it assumes that enthalpy can be 'created' from internal energy by applying a Legendre Transform with respect to volume: It is Science Fiction.
I do like Cengel (Introduction to thermodynamics and heat transfer), so may be Cengel & Boles (2006) is a good start.