Exploring the Force Behind Electron Movement

In summary: The iron stick is there to keep the coil stationary while the generator is generating electricity. Without the stick, the coil would be constantly moving and the magnets wouldn't be able to hold onto the electrons as easily.
nonstop
Hi everybody!

I wan't ask, what force makes electrons move? For example when electricity generator act, what force makes generators coil electricity?

(I'm sorry! My english is very bad and this is my first time when I write something here) :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
In a generator some external force (someone turning a crank, a gasoline motor, water falling) causes a coil to turn around a permanent magnet. That causes an alternating electric field which applies a force to the electrons.

You mean, when generators coil roll in magnetic field that makes alternating electric field in coil and this electric field give force to the electrons. OK! But what causes influence, do generator make AC (Alternating Current) or DC (Direct Current)?

Generators in general make alternating current through the method of electromagnetic induction. In most power plants they rotate a coil of wire through a static magnetic field. Through half the rotation of the coil of wire, the electricity flows one way, and through the other half of the rotation, electricity flows the other way.

nonstop said:
You mean, when generators coil roll in magnetic field that makes alternating electric field in coil and this electric field give force to the electrons. OK! But what causes influence, do generator make AC (Alternating Current) or DC (Direct Current)?