Astronomy Research for Software Engineering Student

In summary, the conversation discussed a software engineering student's interest in astronomy and space research. They seek advice on how to start researching and solving real problems in space technology using software engineering. The conversation also mentioned two interesting projects, Rover & Orbiter Delta Mars and Galactic Zoo, as well as open source projects like Celestia.
KevinDude
Astronomy Research??

Hi all, i am basically a software engineering student (pre-final year). I am good at programming and some math and physics, and i have so much craze about astronomy/space research and star gazing and everything related to astronomy.

I wish i can take up some 'real' problem in space technology and do some research on it using software engineering approach and try devising a solution for that.

I will be much delighted if some one can enlighten me about the stuff and about where and what exactly to start with. It would be much much helpful if i could get some clear expert advice on this.

Thanks so much for answering! =]

Physics news on Phys.org

KevinDude said:
Hi all, i am basically a software engineering student (pre-final year). I am good at programming and some math and physics, and i have so much craze about astronomy/space research and star gazing and everything related to astronomy.
Same here, however I'm on my last year now.

KevinDude said:
I wish i can take up some 'real' problem in space technology and do some research on it using software engineering approach and try devising a solution for that.

I will be much delighted if some one can enlighten me about the stuff and about where and what exactly to start with. It would be much much helpful if i could get some clear expert advice on this.
Recently I stumbled upon two really nice projects.