Big Bang: Protons vs Matter - Exploring the Origins

In summary, Antonio's question is asking if it is possible that instead of matter, what was produced was individual protons, and instead of ani-matter what was produced was electrons.
aherrera
Hello,

I hope you don't mind a question from a complete novice and someone not related to physics at all. I am simply an interested observer.

My question regards the alleged Big Bang, and the follow-up theory that from that bang matter and anti matter were created. Is it possible that instead of matter, what was produced was individual protons, and instead of ani-matter what was produced was electrons? Could the collision of these particles in the early stages is what produced the static we hear as radioactive noise? Then when sufficient electrons found a proton to attach themselves to, stability was created and elements formed?

I may be off in my thinking, but I'm trying to find order in the beginning.

Thank you very much.

Antonio

Space news on Phys.org
Pair production (the primary mechanism for matter creation) produces matter-antimatter pairs, such as proton-antiproton. The big question is why did an excess of matter survive?

Thanks,

Could anti-matter, through some process, be converted to matter? Perhaps two anti-matter particles colliding?
Could Dark Matter actually be a heavier element than what we know of on Earth, and effects gravity in such a way that makes it difficult for us to detect?

I love asking questions because they make me think. I thank you for your time.

aherrera said:
Thanks,

Could anti-matter, through some process, be converted to matter? Perhaps two anti-matter particles colliding?

Two antimatter particles colliding would have the same effect as colliding two matter particles, i.e. do it with enough energy and they break up. I'm pretty sure that you could use the same techniques we use in particle accelerators to generate antimatter from matter to make matter from antimatter.
aherrera said: