Focusing on a specific area of Mechanical Engineering Undergrad?

In summary, the individual is majoring in Mechanical Engineering and is interested in a research opportunity focusing on Fastening and Joining. They are seeking advice on which area to specialize in as an Undergrad in order to take relevant classes. The options provided by their university are Energy, fluid and thermal systems, Automotive engineering, Manufacturing engineering, and Plastics and composites manufacturing engineering. Given the limited information on the research opportunity, it is suggested that the individual focuses on the automotive structures area for a more applicable specialization in structural analysis.
emlekarc
I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering, and I found a research opportunity I really want (it focus on Fastening and Joining). I want to take classes relevant to this area, but my university offers different areas to specialize in as an Undergrad, so which one should I focus on in order to take classes relevant to Fastening and Joining?

1)Energy, fluid and thermal systems depth area. Includes courses in the fluid and thermal energy transport area.

2)Automotive engineering depth area. Includes courses with an automotive engineering emphasis area with two possible areas of specialty: automotive structures or internal combustion engines.

3)Manufacturing engineering depth area. This depth area includes courses in the manufacturing area.

4) Plastics and composites manufacturing engineering depth area. This depth area includes courses in the plastics and composites manufacturing area.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Is there more information you can provide on this research opportunity focusing in fastening and joining (ex: what type of joining)? Of the given choices, automotive structures is the most applicable; you'll want to focus in structural analysis.