Light Up 10 LEDs with 100k Log Pot

• Thread starter Rolandus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Noob
In summary: LM3914 so that when the pot hits the #5 position the #5 led would light up.I'm thinking about using a dual pot with a 47k log on one wafer and a linear on the other.
Rolandus
Is it in some way possible to use a regular 100k log pot to sequentially light up something like 10 leds.

Basically I want the pot to use led #1 while completely anti-clockwise and as i start turning it should light up #2 and 3# etc...? Does that make sense.

I would need an array of 10 leds for the pot as I would like to use the leds as position indicators for the rotation of the pot rather then printing indicators on the faceplate.

Im assuming this should be possible but I am a complete novice.

I just want to know if its possible , i don't mind it taking time or being a bit costly.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Yes, there is even a chip for that, LM3914

I think it's still avialable in Radio Shack.

http://casemods.pointofnoreturn.org/voltmon/ [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks that was fast ...:)

Thats exactly what i was looking for, although i would be using a logarithmic pot , would that work for that kit?

One more question , I might need a variation to this where the Pot would not hold the leds but as it goes to #3 it would shut off #2.

Also on a 10 pole switch I would need it to step through the leds according to the switch.

Any kits for that ?

Thanks

Last edited:
There are voltage-to-LED-driver chips that work in either "bar mode" (all the LEDS from #1 to #n are on) or "dot mode" (just #n is on) I can't remember the part numbers - try an online catalog like http://www.maplin.co.uk