Particle Accelerator: Ideas & Experiments Needed for University Project

In summary, a new student of quantum physics is seeking ideas and clarification for a project on particle accelerators. They are looking for an experiment that used a particle accelerator to discover a particle and its significance to physics. A helpful resource is provided and a suggestion is given to consider the effects of relativity in a particle accelerator experiment.
yuman
Hello everyone!
I am new to quantum physics, currently i am studying it in one of my classes in university.
i need to do a project about particle accelerators and need ideas and clarification of this topic.
i need an idea of an experiment that used a particle accelerator to find discover a particle, and its significance to physics.
since i am new to this area of study I have no idea where to even begin.
your contribution will be GREATLY appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you know any relativity? What might be useful about a particle accelerator, in regards to things like time dilation, length contraction, and how might that be more useful than a normal lab setting?

That's just one idea. Good luck.

What is a particle accelerator?

A particle accelerator is a scientific instrument that uses electric fields to accelerate charged particles to very high speeds and energies. These particles are then collided with other particles or targets, allowing scientists to study their properties and interactions.

What are some potential applications of particle accelerators?

Particle accelerators are used in a variety of fields, including physics, chemistry, materials science, and medicine. They can be used to study the fundamental building blocks of matter, create new materials, and produce medical isotopes for cancer treatment, among other things.

How do particle accelerators work?