Leaner question : what is the purpose of this diode in the diagram?

In summary, the diode protects the transistor from a high current when the relay circuit is switched off.
ramonegumpert
Hello experts, :!)

The following is a diagram posted by a learned forummer and i like to find out what function does the diode serve for the coil of the relay.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/46348930@N03/4400589307/

Thanks for reading my question.

regards
Ramone

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hello ramone,
When the relay circuit is switched off the magnetic field collapses and the energy it stored is dumped back into the circuit.There is a momentary high voltage and this can result in a high current that will zap the transistor.The diode protects against this by providing a low resistance path for the current to flow through.I am no expert and my memories of this are vague but if I am wrong I know others will come into better inform.

Depending on which textbook you read, it's called a freewheeling diode or a flyback diode. It's used for electromechanical relays and also for solid state switches too. Basically, any place in your circuit which has a switch that controls a large power current should include a freewheeling diode. Like Dadface said, it gives the circuit a safe path to drain the energy from high voltage spikes that occur during switch transitions.

Dadface said:
Hello ramone,
When the relay circuit is switched off the magnetic field collapses and the energy it stored is dumped back into the circuit.There is a momentary high voltage and this can result in a high current that will zap the transistor.The diode protects against this by providing a low resistance path for the current to flow through.I am no expert and my memories of this are vague but if I am wrong I know others will come into better inform.

Hi Dadface,