Calculating Torque on Magnet in Solenoid

In summary: Inside the solenoid is a rare Earth bar magnet of some length, initial mis alignment (degrees). The magnet is only free to rotate. Bob has the manufactures information for the magnet seen below. remanence (Br), which measures the strength of the magnetic field = 1.2 teslasenergy product (BHmax), the density of magnetic energy = 300 Kj/m^3 In summary, the magnetic moment of the bar magnet is p = qmL, and the torque is τ = p x B.
alan3303
I am a mechanical engineer and am having to do some calculations concerning magnets and solenoids for a project I am on.

I have a solenoid (defined by number loops, current and cross sectional area).

Inside the solenoid is a rare Earth bar magnet of some length, initial mis alignment (degrees). The magnet is only free to rotate. I have the manufactures information for the magnet seen below.
remanence (Br), which measures the strength of the magnetic field = 1.2 teslas
energy product (BHmax), the density of magnetic energy = 300 Kj/m^3

How do I calculate the torque on this magnet when the solenoid is turned on? I have looked and looked online but I don't know how to convert the manufactures data into a magnetic moment or a magnetic field or anything else I could find of use.

Please any help would be greatly appreciated I have already spent way to much time on this.

Thanks,

Engineering news on Phys.org
alan3303 said:
I am a mechanical engineer and am having to do some calculations concerning magnets and solenoids for a project I am on.

I have a solenoid (defined by number loops, current and cross sectional area).

Inside the solenoid is a rare Earth bar magnet of some length, initial mis alignment (degrees). The magnet is only free to rotate. I have the manufactures information for the magnet seen below.
remanence (Br), which measures the strength of the magnetic field = 1.2 teslas
energy product (BHmax), the density of magnetic energy = 300 Kj/m^3