Vector Field Derivatives: Why & How?

In summary, the conversation discusses the understanding of the derivative of a parametric vector-valued function and its representation as a vector field. It is concluded that the derivative is not a vector field because it does not have an input and output vector. The conversation also touches upon the concept of vector subtraction and how it can be represented in different ways. It is explained that a vector is not about its location, but rather its direction and magnitude. The conversation ends with a discussion on the nature of the derivative and its domain being limited to the points on the curve of the vector-valued function.
Lajka
Hi

I thought about putting this topic in physics subforum, but I think it's overall more fitting here.

So, I'm having problems understanding some basic stuff, and I'm kinda embarassed. I'm an engineer and I'm trying to sort things I already know but on a more rigorous mathematic foundation, and then I get confused from time to time, such as now.

Anyway, let's say we have a parametric vector-valued function [tex]r(t)=(x(t),y(t))[/tex]

wO0fW.png

Nothing too fancy, just your everyday normal trajectory. Now, if we define a derivative of this function as

[tex]\dot{r}(t)=\frac{dr(t)}{dt}=(\dot{x}(t),\dot{y}(t))[/tex]

it is said that this represents the velocity of a function in all the points of the curvature [tex]r(t)[/tex].

uqo7C.png

Therefore, it must be a vector field, by its nature. And now that I think about it, I can't seem to understand this. For something to be a vector field, it must have an input vector and an output vector. For me, [tex]\dot{r}(t)[/tex] is just another parametric vector-valued function, with a scalar as an input, that's all I see.
Moreover, let's recall the definition of a derivative
[tex]\dot{r}(t)=\frac{dr(t)}{dt}=lim_{\Delta t \rightarrow 0} \frac{r(t + \Delta t) - r(t)}{\Delta t}[/tex]

7JwpJ.png