Solving Pallet Breakage with Physics: Freight Industry

• Thread starter hiphooray
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation is about finding a solution for pallet breakage in the freight industry. One idea is to round the edges of the pallet to reduce friction and prevent it from catching on the truck floor. However, the effectiveness of this solution depends on whether the pallet breaks due to catching or friction alone. The best way to convince management to implement this solution is by presenting statistics and showing the cost savings compared to the cost of modifications. Other solutions mentioned include using different materials or adding skid plates to the bottom of the pallet.
hiphooray
Hello,
I work in the freight industry and I am trying to find a solution to pallet breakage. Here is the problem.
A pallet sometimes is longer than the truck is wide. e.g. L=109" W=48" when we load it we manipulate it with 2 forklifts and slide it in Lengthwise. This means sliding the pallet on a wooden truck floor and sometimes the pallet breaks down and the product gets damaged.
Therefore I am thinking of finding a solution with the shipper and tweaking the pallet just a bit.
Pallets are made of 2x4s with 90 degree edges and I was thinking for a cheap resolution we could round the edges so it makes a sled type shape. It seems if we put it on a sled may reduce damage. What do you think? is there any type of math that goes along with that? so I can "prove" it to upper management? Do I need to explain myself more? send pictures?

Physics news on Phys.org
Rounding the ends may help, if the pallet is breaking when it catches on the truck floor.
Another option would be to see if you can get pallets made with 4X4s. or adding PTFE or polypropylene skid plates on the bottom of the pallet.