Calculating Distance Between Point and Line in 3-Dimensional Space

• Thread starter infinitylord
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Optimization
In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of the distance between a point and a line in three-dimensional space. The person mentions their self-taught knowledge of calculus and their attempt to solve the problem using slope and distance formulas. However, they realize that it may not be possible and seek help. They are advised to consider constructing a perpendicular line passing through the given point instead, and to use Google to find resources on how to do so.
infinitylord
I am completely self taught in Calculus, but I would like to have a better understanding of it before I go to College. I was looking up problems and came across this:
What is the distance d between the point A(2,-6,1) and the line l through B(3,4,-2) and C(7,-1,5)?

I attempted this by finding 3 slope formulas of the line between B and C in terms of alternating variables. (I already know this can't quite work, as the final formula will have multiple variables with no chance for substitution or elimination ). But nevertheless, I continued by creating a distance formula plugging in the slopes I got earlier for the x, y, and z variables. Remembering how to do optimization in single variable calculus, I took the derivative of the formula. I actually used a dell operator and set the numerator equal to zero. But this is definitely impossible. So now I need someone to help me out with this! Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Think instead about constructing a line passing thru point A which is perpendicular to the line passing thru B and C. Not every problem requires calculus to provide a solution.

I understand what you mean. But how exactly do I do that?

Google is your friend.

Unfortunately I tried to look it up before I posted on here. The Google skills are lacking with me. What Should I look up? Linear Algebra or vector calculus or something?