Infinte space infinte earths?

• Thread starter ||spoon||
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Space
In summary: I think the current phrase is 'the observable universe', we just say 'the universe'.So the idea of multiple universes is nonsensical, unless you are using the word to mean something else. If you want to say that there may be other 'universes' outside of our own, then you have to say what you mean by 'universe' in that context. It's not enough to say 'everything'.In summary, the conversation discusses the idea of multiple universes and whether they exist in an infinite space. The original poster wonders if the concept of infinite space means that there must be other universes similar to ours. However, other users point out that there is no mathematical evidence to support this theory and that the
||spoon||
Infinte space... infinite Earth's?

Hi all, i am only a year 12 student so this may seem completely stupid to some of you haha... i was thinking the other day and came up with some kind of theory.

If space is infinite then, assuming that our universe was created by random events... i.e. the Big bang then there has to be, at least matematically, a universe or Earth exactly the same as the one known to us somewhere else in space.

Also for this "second" univerese would there not also be another third universe... and so on.

So now i have myslef thinking that if space is infinite then there is an infinite amount of our universes... or soace repeats itself.. which it can't because it is infinite.

hahaha this must seem pretty stupid to you all but would someone pleasde
explain this to me?? thanks alot:smile:

Space news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

Please be careful with what you post here -- we have high intellectual standards, and we don't permit personal theories, no matter how well-intended. There are no "mathematics" which support such an argument about multiple universes, and, indeed, your argument is not necessarily true.

- Warren