Specific Intensity, Flux, Flux Density, Radiative Transfer

In summary, specific intensity is a measure of the amount of radiant energy per unit time, per unit solid angle, per unit frequency or wavelength, per unit area, and per unit solid angle in the direction of propagation. It is also known as brightness or radiance. Flux is a measure of the amount of radiant energy passing through a given area per unit time, while flux density is a measure of the amount of radiant energy per unit frequency or wavelength, per unit area, and per unit solid angle in the direction of propagation. Radiative transfer is the process by which energy is transferred through a medium by electromagnetic radiation, and it involves absorption, emission, and scattering of radiation by particles in the medium. These concepts are all important in understanding the
zeegoat
Hi, I'm new to the technical aspects of astronomy and I'm having trouble quantifying what the definitions of some of these terms are. I can find equations that relate most of them, but I'm not sure how to use any of them.

The terms are specific intensity, flux, flux density, and monochromatic specific intensity. I've tried searching for websites that relate to these terms but so far I'm out of luck.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Astronomy news on Phys.org

What is specific intensity?

Specific intensity is a measure of the amount of radiant energy per unit time, per unit solid angle, per unit frequency or wavelength, per unit area, and per unit solid angle in the direction of propagation. It is also known as brightness or radiance.

What is flux?

Flux is a measure of the amount of radiant energy passing through a given area per unit time. It is the rate of energy flow and is commonly used to describe the amount of energy emitted or received by an object.

What is flux density?