Bending of multi-region beam

In summary, the conversation discusses the problem of deriving a function for the displacement of a beam with a force applied at the tip. The approach involves using differential equations and boundary conditions to find the bending in different regions of the beam. Mohr's circle and bending moment diagrams are mentioned as alternative methods for finding the deflection. The practicality and limitations of these methods are also discussed.
seang

Homework Statement

This isn't really a homework problem but something I...felt like figuring out. I'm an EE student, so this isn't rly my game, but I'm giving it a hack anyway.

See the attachment for an outline of the problem.

The attachment shows the top view of a beam connected rigidly to a wall (the wall being the blackish part). What I want to derive is a function for the displacement of the beam w(x) for a force F applied at the tip of the beam (where "L2" is on the picture). (The beam would move into the page).

Would w(x) even be continuous? or would it be a piecewise function? In any case, I want to be able to find the bending in both regions for a force at the tip.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I started off with the region nearest to the wall. For this part, it is sort of well known that w(x) is:

[tex]w = \frac{F}{6 E {I_1}}(3 L x^2 - x^3)[/tex]

for a force F applied at the end of the first region.

Alright, onto the second part. The bending in the second region is governed by the same differential equation but w/ different boundary conditions:

[tex]
EI \frac{d^4 w}{d x^4} = 0 \\
[/tex][tex]w|_{x = L_1} = \frac{F}{6 E {I_1}}(3L_1^3 - L_1^3)[/tex][tex]\frac{\mathrm{d} w}{\mathrm{d} x}\bigg|_{x = 0} = \frac{F}{6 E {I_1}}(3L_1^2)[/tex][tex]\frac{\mathrm{d}^2 w}{\mathrm{d} x^2}\bigg|_{x = L} = 0[/tex][tex] -EI \frac{\mathrm{d}^3 w}{\mathrm{d} x^3}\bigg|_{x = L} = F[/tex]

And the solution the ODE is something like w(x) = c1*x^3 + c2*c^2 + c3*x + c4;