Enhancing My CV/Resumé with Volunteer Work as a Student in Year 11

In summary, the speaker is a Year 11 student looking to enhance their CV with volunteer work. They have already done some private tutoring and have been a teaching assistant for math classes. However, they are looking for more opportunities to volunteer and are seeking advice on how to do so. They also mention wanting to gain more diverse experiences outside of math-related activities.
FeDeX_LaTeX
Gold Member
Hello;

I am a student in Year 11 (second year of GCSE). I am looking for ways to 'enhance' or add more to my CV/resumé and I have chosen to try and do some volunteer work, in the hopes of making myself try to stand out and possibly increase my changes of getting into university.

I already did voluntary private tutoring at my school (and to a slight extent outside school). I have also talked to my teacher who has let me run after-school maths sessions with able students in order to let students gain a greater understanding of different concepts not introduced at school, and to get away from the whole 'textbook' style of learning. I have taught some classes for maths and biology before (KS3 and KS4), but I am looking to gain more experience. My teacher has also let me be a teaching assistant in different maths classrooms, and I can help out with younger students who are struggling or the very bright students who excel and want more.

However, I still don't feel like this is enough... is there anything else that I could do? Should I run revision sessions? I'm not sure how else I could volunteer, which for now is the main aspect of my CV that I'm working on (along with getting the best GCSE grades I can). I have done my work experience but I have never been officially employed at a paid job.

So, what else could I do? I want to help out, and I am veering more toward voluntary work rather than paid work.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org