Find the Best Optimization Method for Creating Test Groups - Mike

In summary, MJNun is a college student seeking help in finding a term or statistical method to describe and solve a complex optimization problem. The objective is to create four groups of four students who have only one test in common, while maximizing the overall score and minimizing the standard deviation of the groups. MJNun is open to using Matlab or consulting an expert in Operations Research to help with this problem.
MJNun
I am looking for a term to describe a sort of "optimization" that I am trying to do.

Hi everybody, I am a college student who unfortunately is not smart enough to be a math major. But nonetheless I am obsessed with statistics and numbers. I have a question:

I need help figuring out a term, or a statistical method to describe and help me solve what I am looking to do.

I will give you the layout of my project (it is not real, just a good way of explaining what i am trying to accomplish):

I gave 40 students a test on Day 1, (test 1, 2, 3, or 4). At random, I gave them either test 1,2,3,4,5 or No test (0) on Day 2. But made sure not to repeat tests so a student cannot take test 2 on both days. I have averaged their scores and listed which students received which tests in my attachment so you can have a visual representation.

What I am trying to do, and what I would like some help on is:
Creating 4 groups of 4 students who only have one test in common
Group 1: (1,0), (2,1), (4,1), (1,5)
Group 2: (2,4), (2,1)*Different person than group 1, (3,2), (2,0)
ect.

But here is where I have trouble (even explaining), I want to make it so that each group is optimized in way that the groups have the highest possible score, while keeping the standard deviation of the groups at a minimum.