What is the rotational inertia of a model rocket attached to a rigid rod?

In summary: Ok so to find the net torque I multiplied the whole radius (0.6m) by the force (4N) and sin (45) which gave me a final value of 1.697 Nm. For the rotational inertia I added the rotational inertia of a rod about one end (1/3)(M)L^2 and the rotational inertia of the rocket mr^2 which gave me a final value of 0.084 kg m^2. Dividing these two values gave me a rotational acceleration of 20.2 rad/s^2 which seems about right. So basically if I had a rocket that was just 0.6m long and had a mass of 0.3kg
rage_pandora
Hi,

This is my first time posting on this site and I was wondering if someone could help me with this question:

A 200 g model rocket shown in Figure Ex13.24 generates 4.0 N of thrust. It spins in a horizontal circle at the end of a 100 g rigid rod. What is its angular acceleration? (I have attached the figure below).
http://www.pandorainc.com/physicspics/DSCF0061.JPG

Thanks.

Rage

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll need to apply Newton's 2nd law for rotation. What's the torque exerted by the rocket? What's the rotational inertia of the system?

Welcome to the forum. What we do here is help people who have shown us their effort to solve a problem, not just solve problems for them. Show us what you think needs to be considered/done to solve this problem, and then we will help you with it.

Ok so basically I know that I'm supposed to use the formula: net torque = I*a. I also know that the torque will be r*F*sin(45). The problem I am having is figuring out whether I use the whole length(0.6m) for the radius, or the center of mass of the system? The other thing I am stuck on is calculating the moment of inertia. I made "I" equal to the total mass of the system (0.3kg) times the distance to the center of mass squared. I am not sure if this is right or do I have to, again , separate each object into its own radius (m1*r1^2 + m2*r2^2). Thanks.

rage_pandora said: