Undergrad Employment: Working Part-Time While Pursuing a Bachelor's Degree

In summary, the financial aid rep said that you cannot work part-time and succeed in a bachelors degree program. Apparently, you need to put your full focus into your studies if you want to succeed. It is possible to work part time and succeed, but it is more difficult during the more advanced courses. You have to measure your abilities and figure out what works best for you.
Williams.235
So I just transferred to a local 4 year school from a community college. I met with a financial aid rep to discuss how I am going to be paying for this little venture and received some shocking information. Apparantely, you cannot work part-time and succeed in a bachelors degree program according to this rep.

I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering so I expect a lot of study, tough times ahead. But I can't see part-time work as being bad. Do you all work (or did work) during your undergrad years?

Physics news on Phys.org
I did work during my undergrad in which I majored in physics. Look for campus opportunities. I was able to work as a research assistant in a lab on campus. Also, I got the chance to teach an intro level physics lab for algebra based physics. Working on campus makes it a lot easier to balance school and work.