Choice of course Phys-Math (McGill)

In summary, the conversation discussed the individual's enrollment in the Joint Honours Program in Mathematics and Physics at McGill University and their search for guidance on course selection. They mentioned being new to the university system and provided a link to the list of classes. They expressed a desire to pursue theoretical physics and asked for recommendations on which courses to take first. The conversation also touched upon the academic advisor and the different programs for students from the CEGEP system or outside of Quebec. The individual was advised to refer to the course calendar and schedule for more information on required courses and pre-requisites, and to use the Minerva system for registration.
Logik
Hi, I'm going into the Joint Honours Program in Mathematics and Physics @ McGill next session... I'm seeking for help on what course to take... (also how to take them...using minerva?) I'm new to all that university stuff... not too shure how it works... here is the list of class: http://www.physics.mcgill.ca/ugrads/math.html" [Broken] ... what should I take first? I want to go in theoretical physics...

Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
you don't really have any choices to make until your 3rd year...

I did my undergrad, and master at McGill but in microbio. I'll try to guide as best as I can.

First, you should have been assign an academic advisor. Seek help from him if you have any question.

Are you coming from the CEGEP system or are from outside the province of Quebec.

People that come from the CEGEP system do a 3 year program. People outside the province do a a freshman year program before the 3 year program.