I am a Software Engineer planning for a Math PhD

In summary: Scholarships might be difficult to come by. Also, you will probably have to take out loans for a masters program (I would suggest not doing this unless you have your heart set on it, as I think it is a waste of money). Finally, you will have to take the PGRE (which I haven't even taken) as well as the GRE. It isn't so much a test of math knowledge as it is a test of your ability to learn and regurgitate formulas. I would suggest taking a practice test before you commit to a masters program to see how you do and how much prep you need. You might do well on it. I think you will have to study a lot, though,
BlueStar123
Hi,

I am 30 years of age and am currently working as a Software Engineer at a major software company. I have an MS and BS in Computer Science. From childhood, I have always been attracted to math, especially pure math. I have participated in numerous regional Olympiads and stood in the top-3 (I wasn't good enough for international level though :( ). I would not be exaggerating a single bit if I said that my first choice for spending a holiday would be with a math book in my hand (soaking in the sun with a glass of wine nearby, if possible ;))