I with a percussion synth, please

• Thread starter MJay82
  • Start date
In summary, the pitch of the drum sound comes from three 1 Mohm potentiometers. The pot values are represented by the numbers 1, 2, and 3 on the IC. The IC also supplies power, and number 4 goes to ground and number 8 goes to +V.
MJay82
Hello everyone. I'm building a few simple percussion synthesizers with a design from "TAB Electronics Guide to Understanding Electricity and Electronics" for my Physics project this semester. This is my first try at building a circuit ever. I am really enjoying the process, but I have a few questions. I hope my questions come across as clear.

1) When multiple "lines" meet together at a junction point in a circuit diagram, this is the equivalent of a "row" on the breadboard - correct? Or to say it another way, components sharing a row act as if they're sharing a common point, right?
1b) Columns share NO connection (the long way), right?

2) The pitch of the drum sound comes from three 1 Mohm potentiometers. These have one pin on one end, and two pins on the other end. I will describe the way that the schematic represents the potentiometer:
There is a point below a "resistor" symbol (jagged line). The point is connected to the jagged line. In addition, there is an arrow emanating from the point, making a square-shape away from the line (wire), then pointing directly back at the jagged line.
My question is this: I don't know which way to orient the potentiometer - where does the one-prong end go, and where does the two-prong end go. The two-prong end on a breadboard is going to end up being on the same row (obviously), so I'm pretty confused as to why there are two ends at all. Obviously I'm not completely clear on how the potentiometer works - and due to time constraints I've got to jump into this project feet-first.