What are the Career Options for an Electrical Engineering Major?

In summary: I think it is very important to network with people in your field, attend conferences, and meet with professors. Doing all of this will help you get a feel for what companies are looking for in potential employees.In summary, if you want to pursue a career in computer engineering, you should focus on getting good grades in classes related to the field, doing relevant academic projects, and networking with people in the field.
Chunkysalsa
I'm currently a freshman at the University of North Florida pursuing a B.S. in Electrical Engineering. I've yet to start any coursework directly associated with this field so I am speaking from a place of no experience. I just want to plan ahead a bit. When I was in high school I didn't think about my future in college besides the fact I knew I was going. I won't make the same mistake twice.

So right now I'm thinking about future career choices. I am at a bit of a crossroads frankly. I want to work in a field dealing with computer hardware and electronics. I don't mind dabbing in software work but I don't want to be a programmer. I've always loved these things and have had an interest on what makes them tick along with a dream of making them.

However here in Florida all the jobs are construction type jobs or like large power stations. Stuff like this doesn't make interested or excited. From what my small research has led me is that most of the type of jobs I want are in CA.

So how hard would it be for a new grad to get a job cross country and what could I do in the mean time. Would unrelated internships help?

Thank you for any help in this, I know its a bit early since I don't even know if I'll like this subject but I can't help but think (and feel excited) about it. First I have to pass Physics 1 >_<

Physics news on Phys.org
Well if you are going to do an internship, then you might as well get it as close to your major as possible.