Simulation of the fission as a stochastic process

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's attempt to solve the Langevin equation numerically for the brownian motion. The student introduces new variables and equations to simplify the problem, but is struggling with the stochastic term. They are seeking help and guidance on how to proceed with their calculations.
Heimdall
Hello

I'm a french student, I'm actually not sure this is the good place to ask my question but as it deals with the nuclear fission I try here... don't hesitate to tell me if there is a better forum... thx..

well, I'm trying to solve numerically the Langevin equation, initially for the brownian motion, it is also used in nuclear physics as you probably know, to describe the fission of nuclei...

the Langevin equation is :

[tex]\ddot{x}+\beta \dot{x} + \frac{1}{m}\frac{\partial U}{\partial x} = \Gamma(t)[/tex]

where [tex]\beta=\frac{\gamma}{m}[/tex] is a friction term (from a stocke's law) divided by the mass of the brownian particle. (so [tex]\beta[/tex] is [tex]s^{-1}[/tex])

[tex]U(x)[/tex] is an extern potential

and [tex]\Gamma(t)[/tex] is a stochastic force divided my the mass.

well, now I decide, as Kramers did, to tell that my potential U is represented by two parabolas as you can see on http://nicolas.aunai.free.fr/courb.htm

I call B the height of the maximum, and [tex]x_b[/tex] the correspondant X-coordonnate (assuming that the minimum will be at x=0)

I decide that B will be my caracteristic energy for the problem, and [tex]x_b[/tex] my caracteristc length.

I want, in order to solve my equation numerically, to write it without dimension, so I introduce the following new variables :

[tex]Q = \frac{x}{x_b}[/tex]

[tex]\Pi = \frac{U}{B}[/tex]

[tex]t'=\omega t[/tex] where [tex]\omega[/tex] is the caracteristic pulsation of my parabolas

i.e. the equations of the parabolas are :

[tex]U_1(x)=\frac{1}{2}m\omega^2 x^2[/tex] for [tex]x<x_0[/tex]