Solving a differential equation using Cauchy-Euler Method

In summary, the student is having difficulty solving a problem using the Cauchy-Euler method that they are supposed to solve. They are also having trouble understanding the derivative notation in their book.
madcattle

Homework Statement

Hey all, this is my first time posting here. I've used your help before, but have not actually ever had to post a question. Thanks for any help you can give, I am excited to finally join the community.

I am doing calculus homework and I am having trouble solving this problem using the Cauchy-Euler method that we're supposed to solve it with.

Solve: xy4 + 6ym = 0

It is the part about the 6ym that I am not sure what to do with.

Homework Equations

andny / dxn ...a0y = 0

The Attempt at a Solution

My book toldme to try and substitute y=xm into the derivative parts, and all of the other problems I've done work with that method. This is what I've done so far.

y=xm
y1=mxm-1
y2=m(m-1)xm-2
y3=m(m-1)(m-2)xm-3
y4=m(m-1)(m-2)(m-3)xm-4

I know how to treat the 4th derivative term; again, I just don't know what or how to think about the y^m term. I know the solution to the problem, as it is in the back of my book, I just don't know how to get there. Can anyone give me a prod in the right direction?
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't see any derivative in the original equation!

I'm sorry, our book uses notation so that y^4 is supposed to be the fourth derivative of y.
So, for example, y1=y´ and y^2 = y´´

madcattle said:
I'm sorry, our book uses notation so that y^4 is supposed to be the fourth derivative of y.
So, for example, y1=y´ and y^2 = y´´

The usual notation is y^(2) (so we can tell the difference between that and the square of y). Anyway, you have found the first few y^(m) for y = x^n. If you don't see the pattern, I suggest you look instead at y^(m)/m! and see if you recognize the coefficients there.

RGV

I see that there is a relationship in that