While defining a graphene structure

In summary, a graphene structure is a two-dimensional allotrope of carbon that consists of a single layer of carbon atoms arranged in a hexagonal lattice. This unique structure gives graphene its exceptional properties, including high strength, conductivity, and flexibility. While there are multiple methods for producing graphene, the most common is chemical vapor deposition, where carbon atoms are deposited onto a substrate to form a graphene layer. The potential applications of graphene are vast, ranging from electronics and energy storage to biomedical and environmental uses.
collpitt
Hello!
I am a student and have just started studying about graphene. However I am having quite a lot of problems understanding the crystal structure, specifically, I am unable to place certain terms. These being :
1. Basis vectors.(I do understand what a basis vector is but am having difficulties in realizing them in the hexagonal structure.)
2. Reciprocal lattice, brillouin zone.
I would be very thankful should someone help me out or suggest references.

Physics news on Phys.org
You can find the answers in any fundamental textbook concerning SSP, e.g. book by Ashcroft.

I have a hunch that you are having difficulties in understanding the crystal structure of graphene, i.e. a honeycomb lattice, because it’s not a Bravais lattice. The honeycomb lattice is a "lattice with a basis." When you put a collection of atoms, which are arranged in a particular way with respect to each other, on every lattice site of a Bravais lattice then you get a lattice with a basis. In two dimensions there are five Bravais lattices. The Bravais lattice corresponding to the honeycomb lattice is the hexagonal (or triangular) lattice. You can find a very good description of this in sections 1.2.1-1.2.3 in this book:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0471177792/?tag=pfamazon01-20