Optimizing Study Time: A Second Year Student's Experience in Chemical Physics

• Thread starter Howers
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary: I try to understand the concepts and then I move on.In summary, this student says that he rarely studies in the sense of memorizing formulas or anything like that, instead he tries to understand the concepts and then moves on.
Howers
I'm a second year student in chemical physics, at the University of Toronto, and I study roughly 25 hours during the weekdays and about 20 hours on the week ends. I go to class but can't ever pay attention because I can't learn math on the board.

This disturbs me, because my school suggests I should spend 2-3 hours per hour of lecture, and says typical physical science students spend 10 hours for the week and 24 hours during the weekdays.

I never have free time, and I'm always at my desk. I read all my textbooks, and seldom glance over lecture notes. I try a bunch of questions from the books too. Does that just make me a slow learner?

Physics news on Phys.org
Everyone learns on its own tempo. I too am considered a "slow" learner but eventually I understand the course better than the "faster" guys. It just depends on how well you want to master the course. When I study a course, I just want to understand everything in the course. Basically I do that because I can't remember things I don't understand. For example, I cannot remember and reproduce a mathematical proof if I don't fully understand it. Other people would just skip it or memorize it and I think that does the difference between me and them.
I have the same thing in classes as you do. Often, I don't understand anything (or at least not much) during class, but when I'm studying it at my own desk, on my own tempo and while taking my time, it always becomes very clear. You shouldn't worry about that, I think almost everyone has it.