How far could you see from a planet

• Thread starter StrangeCoin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Planet
In summary: I'm no scientist, but It seems to me you would have to take into account perception, of distance before you can determine starting point. Because each angle will be a different distance. The probabilities will be different due to perception.Yes, photons have to take into account the angle of the observer to calculate the distance.
StrangeCoin
How far could you see, on average, from a planet that was surrounded with infinite number of identical stars like the Sun, randomly (uniformly) distributed with their average distance of 10 light years apart? In other words, at what point of distance will such distribution tend to "close in" and block the view to any further away stars. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Countably infinite or uncountably infinite?

Do we treat stars as points?

Likes 1 person
micromass said:

I didn't know the first one existed. If I have to pick, then whatever is more infinite, I think the second one.

Do we treat stars as points?

Not sure, if necessary I guess. What's the alternative and how they produce different results?

StrangeCoin said:
I didn't know the first one existed. If I have to pick, then whatever is more infinite, I think the second one.

Then I can't answer it since I have no idea how to do probability with uncountably many objects in the way you mean. I'm not even sure if the 10 light year condition can ever be satisfied.

Picking countable infinity has problem too since the answer is then automatically infinity. Unless you don't treat stars a points but as little spheres.

Also, I'm not sure what your 10 light years condition actually means. Do you mean (naively) that the average of all distances between ALL individual stars is 10 light years? Then you probably won't have a uniform distribution.