Discrete Structures: Worth Studying for Maths Majors?

An expert summarizerIn summary, Discrete Structures is an important topic in mathematics with applications in various fields. While not required for a mathematics major, it is worth studying in one's own time due to its fundamental concepts. Recommended textbooks include "Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications" by Kenneth Rosen, "Discrete Mathematics: Elementary and Beyond" by László Lovász, and "Concrete Mathematics: A Foundation for Computer Science" by Ronald Graham, Donald Knuth, and Oren Patashnik. If unable to take the module now, it is still beneficial to explore the topic and consider taking it in the future.
qspeechc
Hi. I would be terribly grateful for your help. I am a second year student, and I am pretty sure I will major in Mathematics, and will probably (if I'm smart enough), do maths post-grad.
I was looking through the faculty handbook, and saw that for 2nd year math they offered a module on Discrete Structures. On the Information sheet they describe it as generally useful for mathematics. Unfortunately, I am just not able to fit this module on to my time-table, and so cannot take it.
The description they give is:
DISCRETE STRUCTURES: Introduction to informal logic; use of truthtables, quantifiers. Methods of proof (contradiction, induction). Informal set theory, relations, equivalences, partitions, partial orders. Boolean algebras. Functions, cardinality. Recurrence relations. Introduction to graph theory.
It is not a required module to major in mathematics, but from what I understand, this is important stuff.
Is Discrete Structures worth studying in my own time? If so, what textbooks would you recommend?
Thank-you.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello,

Thank you for reaching out for help with your decision about taking the Discrete Structures module. I can definitely appreciate your desire to make the most informed decision about your academic path.