What Are My Chances of Getting Into Grad School for Astrophysics?

In summary, this person is applying to a variety of schools and is still unsure about their chances of getting in. The person recommends studying for the physics GRE and recommends that others consider applying to schools that they are considering. They also recommend that people consider applying to schools that they did well on on the general GRE.
renz
I'm applying for grad school this fall. I've been looking at schools and try to decide which school to apply, which is quite confusing.
I am majoring in astrophysics and also applying to astronomy/astrophysics program.
I've been doing some research about schools, looking for their profile in gradschoolshopper.
I'm still anxious about what my chances are of getting into these schools.

Here's my brief profile:
- cumulative GPA~ 3.7/4.0 , major GPA: 3.9/4.0
- i havn't taken PGRE yet, but i hope i will get the score of around 800.
- I did research at my school last summer, and i am doing a research at a national lab this summer. no publications.

school i am thinking of applying to :
UT Austin
U Hawaii
Ohio State
UC Santa Cruz
UCSB
UCSD

Any advices on my chance of getting in those schools would be great, and on what school you would recommend to be a safety school.

For others applying for grad school, what schools are you considering? and how do you choose where to apply??

Physics news on Phys.org
Apply to
Cal-tech,
MIT
UCSC
UCB
University of Arizona

I had very similar stats, 3 REUs, a publication (working with people at a top school), several conference posters, and still didn't get into the schools on your list I applied to (most of them). Of course, I didn't get anywhere near a 800 on the physics GRE - most of the people who did in my year were from China. It can be a killer - don't just assume you'll get a great score. Study for it!

Hawaii, Austin, Santa Cruz, Santa Barbara, San Diego... damn why didnt I go into astrophysics.