Analysis graduate school past entrance exam

In summary: I think the substitution u = v + 1/2 is the best way to solve it.Another thing, I just realized that the original question asks for the general solution, meaning it should include a constant. So the final answer would be y = C1x + C2x ln|x| + x^2/4. In summary, The speaker is studying for a graduate school entrance exam, specifically in analysis. They are trying to learn differential equations by themselves but are having difficulty with some problems. They are asking for help with one particular problem, which involves finding the general solution for a given differential equation using a specific procedure. The speaker is unsure if the equation is already homogeneous and is struggling to solve it using the given procedure
agro
Hello there. I'm studying for graduate school entrance exam (nagoya university), and analysis is part of it. I've learned calculus on my undergraduate course but since I didn't get differential equations, I'm kinda learning it by myself right now.

The questions are from past problems which are publicly available. I can solve some already (like second order homogenous linear ones with constant coefficients), but I'm stuck on some. I would really appreciate some help, even if only hints or keywords so that I can search more about it myself.

Homework Statement

We are supposed to find the general solution y for the given differential equation below:

xy'' + y' - x = 0

However we are to follow the following procedure:

a) By substituting p = y', express p' in terms of p and x
b) Make the equation in (a) homogeneous by setting p=xu. Then solve the resulting differential equation and express u in terms of x
c) Using the result in (b) and the fact that p = xu = y', give the general solution for the original differential equation (express y in terms of x)

(the original question is in Japanese. This is my best translation attempt)

2. The attempt at a solution

(a)