Slater orbitals for alkali earth metals and noble gases

In summary: Using single Slater functions to represent the orbitals is most likely not a good idea if you are looking for more than qualitative numbers, even if it is just about overlap.I want to calculate the p_sigma and p_pi overlap integrals for various alkali metal/rare gas combinations. I know that the Slater basis functions for the 'np' rare gas Hartree-Fock orbitals exist (At. Data Nucl. Data Tables, 53, 113, 1993). But I would like to use the (n+1)p rare gas orbitals. Similarly, I know that exponents and coefficients for the valence ns orbit
riclambo
Hello Forum,
Does anyone know where I can find the slater bases for the alkali metal 'np' orbitals and the noble gas '(n+1)p' orbitals, either altogether or individually? I'm a physicist and wanted to know what the standard (or even non-standard) reference is? I know that the occupied 'ns' orbitals for the alkali Earth and the occupied 'np' orbitals for the noble gases are reasonably easy to find. But what about these unoccupied orbitals necessary for transition calculations.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Ricardo

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
Are you asking about orbitals or basis sets?

"Slater-type orbitals", or Slater-type basis functions in more modern and accurate terminology, refers to a basis set composed of exponential functions and spherical harmonics. Slater-type functions haven't seen much use for the better part of the last 40 years. Pople's minimal STO-nG basis set, which approximates STO-type functions with gaussians is around, but is considered too crude for general use these days. AFAIK it was never parameterized for anything higher than Argon.