Creating an Endothermic Reaction Without Ammonium Nitrate

In summary: I'm just trying to create a simple object dispersal device.In summary, Boris' death in GoldenEye doesn't seem realistic to me. He'd have to be submerged in a bath of cryogenic liquid for probably well over ten seconds to freeze solid.
quietbang
So, I'm building a freeze ray, in a sense, and I was wondering...
What would the easiest/cheapest way to produce an endothermic reaction without using ammonium nitrate? The way I have the schematics so far is that I will have two substances that will blend just before exiting the ray, and therefore will react and freeze the substance it hits. My problem is that it needs to be viscuous enough- i.e, not solid- that it can be dispersed shortly after the reaction. It *also* needs to be cold enough to freeze an organic substance with sufficient liquid in a short amount of time.
Any ideas? Tips? Suggestions?
Keep in mind I'm a high school student who's income comes only from 10$ a pop tutoring sessions and occasionally winning stuff and who lives in the middle of a corn field, which means I am both very very cheap, far away from major cities (so the ability to order online is preferable- I have ammonium nitrate, we use it for fertiliser, but other than that..) and have access to my brother's tools, machinery, soddering iron, scrap metals, etc.
Thanks! :)

Chemistry news on Phys.org
The simplest way to do what you want is to have something like liquid oxygen and spray that at an object.

I had a $3 can of compressed air for computer cleaning from a supermarket, which, if held close to an object for a few seconds would freeze it (would severely damage organic material). That was all from simple compressed air.

Note, the range is going to be limited to almost touching the device nozzle. It's also not going to look like in the movies.