Mathematica: Find Maximum Value of Interpolating Function

In summary, the person is seeking help in finding the maximum value of the w2 variable in a Fitzhugh-Nagumo dynamics problem using Mathematica. They have tried using MaxValue and FindMaximum, but initially were missing the [[1]] at the end of the fitz1 variable. With that addition, the solution works correctly.
musicgirl
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to Mathematica, and I'm trying to find the maximum value of an interpolating function.

I'm looking at Fitzhugh-Nagumo dynamics and below is what I have so far. My 'fitz1' gives me 4 variables each described as an Interpolating Function, and I would like to find the maximum value of the w2 variable. I've tried all variations on maxw = MaxValue[{Evaluate[w2/.fitz1]},w2] that I can think of, but I haven't been able to come up with a solution yet. I would be grateful for any ideas you have!

A = 1;
\[Epsilon] = 0.5;
\[Alpha] = 2;
\[Gamma] = 0.2;
v0 = 0.1;
w0 = 0.1;
T = 20;
K = 2;
kick = 1;

initial = Solve[wi == A*vi*(vi-\[Alpha])*(1-vi)-w0 && wi == (vi-v0)/\[Gamma], {vi,wi}, Reals];

fitz1 = NDSolve[{v1'[t]==((A*v1[t]*(v1[t]-\[Alpha])*(1-v1[t])-w1[t]-w0)/\[Epsilon])+(K*(v2[t]-v1[t])), v2'[t]==((A*v2[t]*(v2[t]-\[Alpha])*(1-v2[t])-w2[t]-w0)/\[Epsilon])+(K*(v1[t]-v2[t])), w1'[t]==v1[t]-\[Gamma]*w1[t]-v0, w2'[t]==v2[t]-\[Gamma]*w2[t]-v0, v1[0]==kick+vi/.initial, v2[0]==vi/.initial, w1[0]==wi/.initial, w2[0]==wi/.initial}, {v1,v2,w1,w2},{t,0,T},MaxSteps->10000];

Physics news on Phys.org
MaxValue seems to work fine for me:
MaxValue[{w2[x] /. fitz1[[1]], 0 < x < 20}, x]

Although I prefer FindMaximum:
FindMaximum[{w2[x] /. fitz1[[1]], 0 < x < 20}, x]

That works great, thanks. Just the [[1]] at the end of fitz1[[1]] I was missing. That seems to be the way with Mathematica!

Without the [[1]] you wind up with one to many layers of {}.

Hello there,