Which programming language is best for computational physics?

In summary, the conversation revolved around the best programming language for someone interested in computational physics. Suggestions were given for MATLAB, C++, Java, C#, and Python, with the consensus being that it is more important to learn general programming skills rather than just focusing on one specific language. It was also mentioned that learning one language well can make it easier to learn others.
frug
I am new to programing in general, and I want to learn a language that will be useful to me as a physicist. I am currently looking mostly at C++, but Java and C# also seem like useful tools. I don't want to waste my time studying anything that I won't use. Any suggestions from those of you who have experience doing computational physics? I have Mathematica as well, but right now I am interested in learning an actual language. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you considered matlab? It's almost the same as c++. In college I knew a lot of electrical engineers on computer tracks who used MATLAB extensively. In general, Java seems to be more for web designers, and is easy to pick up anyway.

If you're good with code then once you become fluent in one language you can learn others in no time at all. It won't be a life altering decision for you if you pick a bad language.

mrmiller1 said:
Have you considered matlab? It's almost the same as c++. In college I knew a lot of electrical engineers on computer tracks who used MATLAB extensively. In general, Java seems to be more for web designers, and is easy to pick up anyway.

If you're good with code then once you become fluent in one language you can learn others in no time at all. It won't be a life altering decision for you if you pick a bad language.

That is true to an extent, but learning to code MATLAB well can be difficult for people entrenched in looping logic (from having learned c++ and the like).