Can a Physics major get a job as an engineer?

In summary, a physics major can help an engineer get a job, but it is harder to get a job than with an engineering degree. A dual major in physics and engineering might not be the best idea. Graduate school in physics does not alter this situation.
nicolasg
I'm a freshman in a University and right now my major is mechanical engineering. I've been told by some people that a physics major can get me a job as an engineer with some on the job training. Is this true?

Will duel majoring in physics and mechanical engineering help get me a well paid engineering job as apposed to just mechanical engineering?

Will a degree in biomedical physics help me get a biomedical engineer job?

Physics news on Phys.org
It won't hurt, but if you want to be an engineer, then major in engineering. If you want to be a biomedical engineer, you should major in biomedical engineering.

Yes. I got a job as an engineer with a physics BA. At least 3 co-workers in my group were physics PhDs.

Khashishi
what type of engineering do you do? What's your job like? I'm really curious. Would you say it was difficult to find an engineer job with a BA in physics? Was it an disadvantage or advantage over those with a BA in engineering.

Engineering is a BS.

It will be more difficult to find an engineering job if you have a physics degree. Engineering managers are looking to hire engineers.

I'm pretty sure you can get a job as an engineer with a Physics degree ,but you'll probably have to get at least a Masters or PhD.