Books recommendation for understanding quantum world

In summary: Billions by Brian GreeneIn summary, to start learning about quantum physics, you need a 'solid background' in mathematics and classical mechanics.
TeCNoYoTTa
Physics is not my area so I don't have solid background to understand complex books, I am searching for books to introduce me to quantum physics that I can understand. Can you please recommend any books for me.

Physics news on Phys.org
You need a 'solid background' to start quantum physics.
Otherwise, you are led by the conflicting confusions of 'popular' treatments.

Meir Achuz said:
You need a 'solid background' to start quantum physics.
Otherwise, you are led by the conflicting confusions of 'popular' treatments.

Thanks alot, In your opinion what are the minimum requirements and prerequisites to start learning about quantum physics.

My major is computer science and I am interested in quantum physics in general and also interested about the quantum computing.

"How to Teach Quantum Physics to Your Dog" by Chad Orzel is a pretty good pop-sci introduction.

The problem with doing it "properly" is that you need to have the right background (mainly maths), and even then it takes a long time to learn even the basics.

There is nothing wrong with pop-sci, as long as you remember that you that no popular description can ever give you the full picture.

Differential geometry (to the point of understanding differential operators), imaginary numbers, matrix algebra, plus a little bit of differential equations so the Schrodinger equation solutions make some sense.

I learned from A.C.Phillips, if you want a textbook with a bit of a narrative to it.

MikeyW said:
Differential geometry (to the point of understanding differential operators), imaginary numbers, matrix algebra, plus a little bit of differential equations so the Schrodinger equation solutions make some sense.

And of course a solid grounding in classical mechanics.