What Are the Best Motors for Deploying Solar Panels in Space?

In summary, deploying solar panels has the main purpose of converting the sun's energy into usable electricity, which helps reduce reliance on fossil fuels and mitigates the effects of climate change. When choosing a location for deployment, factors such as sunlight availability, panel orientation, and shading should be considered. Solar panels typically last 25-30 years with proper maintenance, and can be installed on various types of roofs. The cost of deployment can vary, but government incentives and tax credits can help offset the initial expenses and save money in the long run.
seb_cornez_gp
Hi
My name is sébastien Cornez.
I'studying ingeneering at the University of Liège in Belgium. I'm in my last year in aerospatial. I look for informations, contacts and weblinks about motors for the deployment of solar pannels in space.
If you have information can you send it to me at seb_cornez_gp@hotmail.com

With my deep respect
Sebastien Cornez

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi Sebastien;
Please clarify. Do you mean information on ones in current use, or are you looking to design something new? I can't help with the former.

Hello Sebastien,

Thank you for reaching out and showing interest in the deployment of solar panels in space. I am not an expert in this field, but I can provide some general information and resources that may be helpful to you.

Firstly, the deployment of solar panels in space is a crucial aspect of space missions as they provide the necessary power for spacecraft and satellites. They are also used in larger scale projects such as space-based solar power systems.

In terms of motors for deployment, there are various types that are used depending on the specific application. Some common types include stepper motors, servo motors, and linear actuators.