Teaching Calculus for the First Time

In summary, a graduate student at the University of Michigan has been tutoring a high school student in math and physics for about a year. The student will be taking Calc AB next fall and has asked for help with calculus over the summer. The tutor is unsure of the best approach, but is considering starting with the concept of limits. Other suggestions include using a textbook such as "Single Variable Calculus - Early Transcendentals" or creating custom lecture notes tailored to the student's interests. Some also recommend starting with basic algebra and trigonometry skills before delving into advanced calculus topics.
emob2p
Hi,

I am a graduate student at the University of Michigan and I have been tutoring a high school student in math and physics for about a year now. As he will be taking Calc AB next fall, he asked me to teach him calculus this summer. I am excited to do this, but am not sure the best way to approach it.

When I was in high school, I did a little independent study using the book Calculus Made Easy by Thompson and Gardner. I remember this to be beneficial; however, returning to the book now, there is very little treatment given to limits, a topic my student has yet to cover in pre-calc. I'm thinking the best place to start a mini-course in calculus is with the concept of limits, but am not sure of this.

Does anyone have any advice on the best way to introduce calculus to a student?

Thanks,
Eric

Physics news on Phys.org
I found "Single Variable Calculus - Early Transcendentals" by James Stewart helpful. A lot of attention is paid to limits and will cover everything he will see in high school Calculus.

bartle and sherbert !

I suggest a custom set of lecture notes, design to appeal to the students interests and curiosities so that they feel motivated to learn.

I've always thought that it would be neat to introduce calculus by asking your students to derive the formula for the area of a circle.