Boiling Solvents: Safety Procedures & Risks

• Thread starter Mr_Bojingles
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Boiling
In summary, you should avoid doing dangerous chemistry at home before you attend university. You should also study chemistry at a university that offers a genetic approach to learning.
Mr_Bojingles
I'm planning on studying chemistry in university next year and although I know a good bit of inorganic and organic chem theory I have very little practical lab experience.

I want to get a feel for simple procedures like dissolving chemicals in solvents and recrystallizing etc.

I want to test out solubilities with common solvents like isopropyl alcohol, methanol, acetone etc.

Is it safe to bring solvents like these to the boiling point in order to dissolve chemicals into them? Alcohols aren't as volatile as acetone so I wouldn't be as worried working with them but is it dangerous to bring a solvent like acetone to the boiling point? I'd imagine it would create a lot of vapours and there would be the possibility of the vapours hitting the stove and igniting but how high is the risk of something like that happening?

What safety procedures should I take if I was to boil a volatile solvent like acetone?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
I don't have a hotplate at the moment so I used a frying pan with cooking oil as a replacement but something strange happened.

I placed some powder which is insoluble in acetone at low temperatures at the bottom of a 150ml borosilicate beaker and poured about 4 times the amount of acetone on top of it.

As the temperature raised slightly violent bumps started to occur. Big clumps of the powder solid at the bottom started shooting up whenever a bump happened. I picked up the beaker and it continued to bump once or twice even after if was off the frying pan. Whats this all about? Is it because I'm using cooking oil or is it because the beaker is way too small for the frying pan?