Double major in computer science and math?

In summary, the person is currently majoring in computer science but is starting to like math. They have only taken calculus and plan to take Linear Algebra and Differential Equations next quarter. They are unsure about doing a double major because both majors require a lot of time. The person is considering taking an upper division math class over the summer and is wondering if it would be a waste of time. They are also unsure if they should take Linear Algebra or Intro to Analysis. The person is advised to try the class if they are considering a double major as it will give them an idea of what upper division math classes are like. It is also recommended to take an intro to proofs class first as it will be helpful for both math and computer science courses
bubbles
I'm currently majoring in computer science, though I'm starting to really like math. I've only taken calculus. I will take Linear Algebra and Differential Equations next quarter. It seems that most people who major in math dedicate a lot of time to that particular subject, but computer science classes are also very time consuming, so I'm not sure if it's a good idea to do a double major. How are upper division math classes like compared to lower division math classes? I'm thinking of taking http://sis.berkeley.edu/catalog/gcc_sso_search_sends_request?p_dept_name=MATHEMATICS&p_dept_cd=MATH&p_title=&p_number=74" class over the summer. Is it going to be a waste of time and should I just take a class that would actually count for major requirements? Then would it be better to take Linear Algebra or Intro to Analysis? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Linear algebra is, if I have understood correct, a cornerstone in computer science.